…and closer

   
” So don’t lose a minute in building on what you’ve been given, complementing your basic faith with good character, spiritual understanding, alert discipline, passionate patience, reverent wonder, warm friendliness, and generous love, each dimension fitting into and developing the others.”

2 Peter 1:5-7 (The Message)

Alert Discipline:   “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves.  Therefore, be a shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves.” Matthew 10:16

It’s not gonna ever be pretty out there.  In fact, the suffering is more likely and the battle…more intense as we draw nearer to Christ.  And though the victory is already HIS…our faith will only become stronger when we stand firm in it…no matter what.

Passionate patience:   “Be still and know that I am GOD.”

Reverent wonder:  This weekend me and some of the boys spent the weekend camping in Anza-Borrego…and I, the voracious lover of nature, found myself sitting atop a rocky hill just listening…and looking…and knowing it is all HIS doings.  HE is God…the name above all names…the lilly of the valley…the bright and morning star.  I can’t make heads or tails of these thoughts, but my heart skips a beat when I sense HIM.

I have a joyful heart tonight and yet, I have barely tasted and seen.

One Response to “…and closer”

  1. The quietness of nature have been the most peaceful moments in my life. Especially, listening to a babbling brook and or watching a deer off in the distance. I wish I was there now instead of this bustling city of mine.

Leave a comment